Inserm Prizes 2013

By honoring its talents, Inserm intends to show the diversity and the wealth of the professions that work in biomedical research, as well as the creativity and the passion of the men and women who run it on a daily basis.

Prize-winners 2013 : Jacques Grassi, Opecst-Inserm Prize ; Dominique Costagliola, Research Prize ; Professeur Ogobara Doumbo, International Prize ; Professeur André Syrota, Chairman and CEO of Inserm ; Véronique Guyonnet-Dupérat, Innovation Prize ; Gulnara Yusuposa, Research Prize ; Stanislas Dehaene, Grand Prize ; Daniel Louvard,  Prize of Honour ; Joseph Hermmerlé, Innovation Prize. 2013 prize-giving ceremony, December 2013, Collège de France © Inserm, E. Begouen

Prize-winners 2013

The Inserm Medical Research Prizes for 2013 were awarded on Monday December 2nd, 2013 at the Collège de France.

watch a recording of the ceremony (in French)

The winners

Grand Prize: Stanislas Dehaene, for all his work dedicated to consciousness (director of the cognitive neuro-imaging unit at the NeuroSpin Centre, Inserm/CEA Unit 992, Paris-South 11 University)


Honorary Prize: Daniel Louvard, for all his work on cancer (emeritus director of the Curie Institute Research Centre in Paris)


International Prize:Ogobara Doumbo, for his research into malaria (doctor and researcher, founder of the Malaria Education and Research Centre at Bamako)


Opecst-Inserm Prize: Jacques Grassi, for his work promoting industrial exploitation of research results (specialist in immuno-analysis)


Research Awards: Dominique Costagliola, for her work on HIV (specialist in biostatistics and epidemiology, Inserm Unit 943, Pierre-et-Marie-Curie University)


Research Awards: Gulnara Yusupova, for her work on the ribosome, the cellular protein factory (biochemist at the Institute of Genetics and Molecular and Cellular Biology (IGBMC), Inserm/CNRS Unit 964, University of Strasbourg)



Innovation Awards: Joseph Hemmerlé, for this work on biomaterials (research engineer in Inserm Unit 1121 'Biomaterials and Bioengineering', at the University of Strasbourg)


Innovation Awards: Véronique Guyonnet-Dupérat, for her work on viral vectors (manager of the Transbiomed service platform, Inserm/CNRS service unit 5, University of Bordeaux)


The Grand Prix pays tribute to an actor in French scientific research whose work has allowed for remarkable progress in the knowledge of human physiology, therapeutics, and in the health field at large.

The Research Awards distinguish researchers, professors and clinician-researchers, whose work has particularly marked the field of fundamental research, clinical research and therapeutics and research in public health.

The Innovation Awards reward engineers, technicians or administrative personnel for original creations in the service of accompanying research.

Since 2004, an Honorary Prize and an International Prize have been awarded, bearing witness to the professions of particularly eminent international scientists.

^ Top of page