Specialized Scientific Commissions (CSS)

As evaluation bodies, CSS are set up for a period of four years, by deliberation of the Board of Management after consulting the Scientific Advisory Board.


The CSS participate in the processes of evaluating research units and help to write the situation and outlook report drawn up by the Scientific Advisory Board.
They are consulted by the Chairman and CEO on:

  • the nomination of unit directors and renewal of their responsibilities or the decision to terminate them;
  • the periodic evaluation of research units in liaison with the AERES (French Evaluation Agency for Research and Higher Education) for creation or renewal applications;
  • the evaluation every two years of researchers' activity;
  • Inserm's financial participation in scientific projects for training or teams not belonging to the institute.

Themes of the CSS for the 2016-2021 term

CSS 1 - Fundamental mechanisms of life
Chair: Bruno Robert
Vice-Chair: Delphine Duprez

  • Cellular biology
  • Developmental biology and biology of aging
  • Structural biology ; Biophysics
  • Synthetic biology; Systems biology
  • Epigenetic ; Genetic 
  • Transcriptional and post-transcriptional regulations ; Replication-reparation-recombination

CSS 2 - Genetic and developmental diseases, Oncology , Hematology
Chair: François Vallette
Vice-chair: Christel Thauvin-Robinet

  • Oncology
  • Hematology
  • Genetic and developmental diseases
  • Rare diseases
  • Developmental disorders

CSS 3 - Physiology and pathophysiology of major systems
Chair: Stéphane Germain
Vice-chair: Valérie Paradis

  • Heart ; Blood vessels ; Haemostasis-Thrombosis 
  • Liver ; Digestive system 
  • Metabolism ; Nutrition 
  • Muscle 
  • Dentistry
  • Bone and joint
  • Skin
  • Lung
  • Reproduction
  • Hormonal regulation
  • Kidney; urinary tract

CSS 4 - Neurosciences
Chair: Valérie Crepel
Vice-chair: Florence Pasquier

  • Cognition ; Memory ; Behaviours; Addictions
  • Neurological and neurodegenerative diseases; Psychiatric disorders
  • Molecular, cellular and integrative neurobiology
  • Neuroendocrinology; Neuro-immunology
  • Computational neuroscience
  • Sensory systems, motor control and related diseases; Pain

CSS 5 - Immunity, Infection
Chair: Michel Cogne
Vice-chair: Agathe Subtil

  • Allergy
  • Auto-immunity
  • Bacteriology ; Mycology ; Virology ; Parasitology
  • Innate and adaptative immunity
  • Inflammation
  • Host-pathogen interactions ; Infectious diseases
  • Vaccination ; Immunotherapy

CSS 6 - Public Health andHealth Technology
Chair: Didier Letourneur
Vice-chair: Marie-Christine Boutron-Ruault

  • Epidemiology
  • Humanities and social sciences applied to health and healthcare systems
  • Statistics ; biostatistics ; modeling
  • Biomaterials ; Tissular engineering
  • Design and development of tools, and of therapeutical or diagnosis devices
  • E-health
  • Pharmacovigilance, environmental pharmacology, development of tools for pharmacology or for toxicology

Consult the list of members of the commissions on the Eva website

^ Top of page
View Edit Create here